Minutiae

Embracing the Unfiltered Moments of Life

andi
2 min readAug 4, 2023
Photo by Robert Linder on Unsplash

Recently, I stumbled upon a fascinating app called Minutiae, which exites me a lot lately. Personally, I’ve always had difficulty recalling past events, even those from just a few days ago. Whether it’s significant occasions or the little details of my daily routine, most memories seem to slip away from me. While some recollections linger, many are already forgotten.

Minutiae is akin to the viral app BeReal. Each day, the app notifies its users to take a picture using their back cameras at random moments. What sets it apart is that there are no “likes” or follower counts, no filters, and most importantly, no control over what the users upload. The experience is entirely different from typical social media platforms.

Unlike other apps, Minutiae doesn’t allow me to follow friends or explore other profiles. Instead, I can only view other people’s minutiae 60 seconds after I take my own picture, and they can see mine as well. There’s a sense of anonymity and a lack of instant gratification, making it an anti-social media app in its own right.

One of the things I adore about this app is how it curates random moments from my day and compiles them into albums. Many of these moments would have remained forgotten if not for Minutiae. It captures real life in all its uncurated and unfiltered glory.

I’ve been using Minutiae for less than a month, and already, as I peruse my albums, I see the gradual changes happening around me. It’s incredible how much I wouldn’t have noticed without this app nudging me to document these seemingly ordinary moments.

This app has taught me a great deal about appreciating the little things in life, those fleeting seconds that usually go unnoticed. It reminds me to embrace the unfiltered moments and cherish them as they come. Minutiae has become a valuable teacher, showing me the beauty in the everyday, the passage of time, and the transient nature of life.

Minutiae has become more than just a simple app; it’s a profound way of capturing and treasuring the essence of life. I’m excited to continue this journey of self-discovery and observation, embracing each passing minute and allowing Minutiae to be my window into the wonder of the world around me.

--

--

andi

with zeal, i read and write. as pages turn and pen glides. truth's grain of salt hides.